I’m a Light Bender!

I like the show Avatar: The Last Air Bender. I wish I bend fire and water and earth and air, like they do. Today I learned how to bend light, which is almost as cool.

Light normally travels in straight lines. When light goes through water, it bends. This is called refraction.

Here is what I did to bend light:

Step. 1: Put a coin into an empty bowl.

Image

Step 2. Step back until you cannot see the coin.Image

Step 3. Have someone slowly pour water into the bowl. Make sure you don’t let the water move the coin.

As if by magic, you’ll see the coin appear. The coin seems to appear again because the light changed direction in the water!

In real life, you can be a light bender.

One response to “I’m a Light Bender!”

  1. Ervin Cowley says :

    Science is really fun. There are many amazing things to learn.

Leave a Reply

