Growing Crystals

For my birthday, I got a Smithsonian crystal-growing kit. I learned that crystals are formed when atoms attach themselves together in patterns.

First, I grew the yellow one, called “golden citrine.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I mixed the golden powder with boiling water, and stirred it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Once everything was dissolved, I let it cool for 5 minutes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I put a rock in the cup, so that the crystals could grow on something.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I then poured the liquid into the cup, and put a few crystals of the chemical on the rock.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I had to wait. (I think I’m good at waiting.) By morning, crystals had started growing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After a week, it looks like this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Out of the cup, it looks like this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tags: ,

One response to “Growing Crystals”

  1. Ervin Cowley says :

    Really great experiment, Nate. It is exciting to see how nature works.

    Grandpa and Grandma Cowley

Leave a Reply

